Sad week for claymation fans

Gumby playing my baby Galaga cabinet

Like most videogame bloggers, I have a list of ‘games I’d like to make one day’ floating around my head. And one of them would be a Gumby videogame. (Actually I just found out that there’s already been one released on Gameboy Advance… that’ll teach me to not buy any Nintendo handhelds…)

For those of you unfamiliar with the lil’ guy, a quick read of Gumby’s wikipedia article should get you in the mood for watching an episode or 2 on Youtube.

But this week is a sad week for fans of his green bendiness. Gumby’s creator Art Clokey passed away. Here’s the coverage on Boing Boing & ABC news.

He was a real legend in claymation, that’s for sure.

*Strange but true: My only ever paid nightclub DJ gig was NYE 1995, at Melbourne’s Retro nightclub, under the moniker of DJ Gumby. I played Gumby videos on the big screen, wore a Gumby T-shirt & had little gumby figurines around the DJ booth.

One Response to Sad week for claymation fans

  1. Myf says:

    I remember that gig …

    Still got my Gumpy and Pokey figurines too – and have fought off many “borrowing” attempts.

    Really sad to hear about Art Clokey – loved his work

Leave a Reply

