Parents of young children… Snag! This! Mag!

Being a gamer since about 1870 gives me special skills.
Like the ability to…

  • Press a mouse button 15 times per second.
  • Spot airconditioning ducts when I’m out ‘n’ about.
  • And maybe – recommend appropriate games for kids.

Last year I was asked by My Child magazine (a respected Australian quarterly publication) to write an in-depth piece on games and children under five…

Two thousand three hundred words later, with interviews from psychologists, gaming experts, optometrists and other gurus, plus a selection of parents… it’s hit the shelves.

Kids & Videogames - My Child  - Winter 2011 edition

Kids & Videogames - My Child - Winter 2011 edition

If you – or a friend – have children under 5, and you’re not sure when to start them gaming – this article is for you. If you’re not sure which iOS games are good for a 3 year old… or which PC games are good for a 5 year old, I’ve got lots of recommendations. And if you’re not sure which system is suitable for your family, there’s plenty of buying tips.

My Child is available at most Australian newsagents. It’ll be on the shelves until August 31.

5 Responses to Parents of young children… Snag! This! Mag!

  1. StickHead says:

    Wow, I need this article in my life! My boy is three and his interest in gaming is burgeoning. He plays Wii fit with Mummy and Mario Kart with Daddy (he is surprisingly good) as well as Thomas and friends on the DS. Is there any way of us pommes (you call us pommes, right?) getting a hold of this in the UK?

    • justonemoregame says:

      Hi Stickhead,

      Your son sounds like a real gamer-in-the-making. Actually, you’re being a bit ‘fancy’ with your Australian slang. It’s “Poms”. I think your version is French for potatoes, haha.

      As for obtaining a copy of My Child in the UK, I will enquire with the publisher, and update this thread.

      • justonemoregame says:

        Stickhead, I’ve heard back from My Child magazine.
        You can buy a back issue from them – but mag + postage to the UK will be around AUD$30. (£ 19)

  2. StickHead says:

    Thanks for finding that out for me, Gabe. £19 is a bit steep for one article, which is a bit of a shame as I am currently undertaking a degree in Early Years Education and would like to steer my studies towards the educational benefits of gaming (both video and non) so this article might have been pertinent to that. Never mind! Perhaps you have found some other studies or articles that might be helpful?

    Oh, and thanks for the slang correction too.

    Yours,
    Marc

    • justonemoregame says:

      No worries Marc.
      I’ve contacted the magazine regarding another solution for you.

      Your studies sound interesting – do keep in touch if there’s something that might be of interest.

Leave a Reply

