Exclusive: First 5 screens from Last Ninja remake

Header: The Final Ninja

Earlier this year, J-OMG was first with the news that C64 class The Last Ninja was being remade for the PC. This daunting task, was being undertaken by Trevor ‘Smila’ Story and Stu Collier – makers of the Armalyte remake we reviewed back in March.

Today, I’m pleased to present the world’s first look at 5 screens from level 1 of The Final Ninja. To help refresh your memory, I’ve alternated a screenshot from the original title, with the relevant pic from the remake.

And now, on with the show…


(By the way, each of the ‘remake’ shots is zoomable. Just mouseclick on it, for a closer look.)


Oh yes, we all remember trying to jump on those #&$!($& stepping stones to cross the river.


The Buddha temples look great, don’t they?


And I really hope they include the ‘incidental’ graphics, like the storks that fly across the screen, or the dragon that pops out of the water.


Of course, if it’s been a while since you played The Last Ninja, you may have trouble remembering where the pieces above fit into the first level.

Fortunately, someone has lovingly mapped out ‘The Wastelands’ for you. And – if you’d like to see the original game in action, here’s an impressive Youtube ‘longplay’ video.

So, that’s our quick update/peek at “The FINAL Ninja”.
A big thanks Smila, for sharing these early screenshots with J-OMG’s readers. 🙂

36 Responses to Exclusive: First 5 screens from Last Ninja remake

  1. Merman says:

    While I still love the game, I do hope the control method is one area the remake will improve on the original… looking good so far!

  2. Steve says:

    Looks awesome! I’m interested as to whether there’ll be an option to hide the frame around the game area. That was one of my biggest annoyances with the original!

  3. […] dieser Remakes dürfte The Final Ninja werden, das sich noch in der Entwicklung befindet. Hach, The Last Ninja, ja. Kaum ein anderes Spiel […]

  4. gnome says:

    A perfect visual update it seems.

  5. smila says:

    Just got the dragon to finish and then some fx and level one art is complete, may have to fiddle with a few anims but it’s getting there.

    • justonemoregame says:

      Thanks for the update Smila.
      I imagine it’s the kind of game for which you could really spend aaaages doing animations.

  6. Azel says:

    I hope the ending is better then the orginal c64 version…
    Does anyone remember the intro for ninja remix on the c64? Can we have a cool new intro which ties into that, Smila?

    The game looks really good 🙂

  7. smila says:

    i’ll read the story and see if i can come up with a nice intro yeah.

  8. porga says:

    I know this is silly question,

    but when can we expect game to be playable?

    LN is best game of all times for me. Lots of great memories…

  9. smila says:

    we may release a 1 level demo when weve got all the tweaks done.

    currently finishing off rocky memphis

  10. Jacek says:

    Best game. Lovely Pic’s from remake. I look forward to the demo. 🙂

  11. Retro resurrection says:

    I love it all =) I just noticed some few things i wish you fix. The stones, they look all the same. They don’t on the c64.

    Example :

    and yours : http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v369/David_Manning/J-OMG/tln_eg6_350px.jpg

    Do a bit more variable stones please. I remember i looked at the nice nature alot as a child. Even on my c64, and it looked SEXY =) It still does.

    One more thing, the ninja should be kneeling in front and in the center of the buddha statue =)

    Buddha is in the middle of the old road here, and not on the side of it. Perhaps you have animated the ninja to walk up on the green grass, then kneeling there for all i know =) Only my suggestions bro =) The buddha should be a bit more covered with trees and stuff. I remember my feeling when i walked up to that buddha. I think they wanted us to feel that the buddha statue, had been there for quite some time, and that it was crowded with nature (and abit hidden)
    I would really appreciate if all the nature is animated to move in the wind =) That would be SICK

    • justonemoregame says:

      Hey Mr Resurrection, thanks for your detailed comment.

      Small tip: Here at J-OMG we aren’t making this game – but don’t worry – the guys who are (Smila & Stu) do hang out here, so they’ll probably reply to you.
      If not, you can contact them at their site.

  12. Shermanator says:

    I personally cant wait for this to be made. However I do think the Ninja needs to be more err Ninja like. Currently his eyes don’t seem to be seen. He looks to be wearing a Rubber suit that in my opinion is too much figure hugging. The original ninja sprite on the C64 was I believe based on the look of the 80’s Ninja movie star Sho Kosugi in his Ninja garb. Although very basic the Ninja sprite was on the C64, I think System 3 nailed it. His movies are Revenge of the Ninja, Enter the Ninja, Pray for Death (Although he wears this awesome metal Helmet in this). If you haven’t seen them then its good to watch them to get an idea.

    I hope you guys are not offended, I am just suggesting it, and please use this as constructive criticism.

    • justonemoregame says:

      Hi Shermanator, thanks for those interesting insights (I’m afraid I know nothing of ‘real’ ninja films).
      Oh – and J-OMG is just a news/interview site. We’re not actually MAKING the game in question.

      By the way, do you mind if I ask how you ended up here? We’ve had a LOT of ‘last ninja remake’ traffic here in recent months.

      • Shermanator says:

        Actually I found this website listed in the Forums for the Last Ninja Archives. This game was extremely popular on the C64 in its day, and since its remake I guess everyone at the archives are waiting in anticipation for its release to again relive their memories.

      • justonemoregame says:

        Ah, thanks for that!
        Yes – I understand – and share – the anticipation!

  13. bla says:

    Great initiative, I’d love to see more old games come back to live. However, I do wish that the graphics would have corresponded more with those of the original game. For example the shapes and locations of the rocks and plants are different. Also, in the original game the “Buddha” statue was in fact a Budai statue instead of a Buddha statue. Similar, but not entirely the same and less correct considering the locations that are displayed in the game.
    Buddha: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddha
    Budai: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Budai
    Nevertheless I hope this remake will be published soon and I wish the maker alot of success.

  14. chris says:

    AWSOME !!

    can i make a fan based site and use your screenshots ?
    oh please …go on !! il let you view it first for approval…also Last ninja 2 was the best in the series….any plans on that one ?? or a new one all together ….

    • justonemoregame says:

      Chris, you’re welcome to re-use those shots.
      All I ask for is a link back to *this* ‘exclusive’ post.

  15. chris says:

    Hi justonemoregame

    This is kind of what i had in mind for my fan based site but i want to do so much more. But as promised i said i would let you see it before for any approval or disapproval.. Its only a demo for the colours,feel and ideas so your comments appreciated…any chance of a video to show on the vid page when its done 🙂 worth a shot !!

    Take a look and see what you think…I will include a full credits page as well for music, pics etc.. Its Temporarally here..

    http://www.synchromesh.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/

    You guys have to do ninja 2 as well

    Cheers

    • justonemoregame says:

      Hey Chris, your site looks great.

      FYI: JustOneMoreGame is not making ‘The Final Ninja’; we’re just bringing you news on it. 🙂

  16. chris says:

    Ok my new website renamed “Last Ninja Chronicles” is up and running dedicated to “The Final Ninja” There is and will be lots more to do with the last ninja trilogy as well so please check it out..There are 3 more ingame screenshots on the updates page not shown here so please check it out here…

    http://www.lastninjachronicles.co.uk

    Comments welcome

    Chris

  17. Jason C says:

    Is this still in progress? I love The Last Ninja series 🙂

    • justonemoregame says:

      Yes Jason, the devs say in this month’s Retro Gamer that they’re still working on it, but they have a number of projects “ahead in the queue”. That includes a few mobile games.

  18. Chris says:

    Im kind of gutted….I really wanted to contribute in some way to this project so i built a fan based site…added paypal pointing to their account for support..But despite emailing them for any information i havent heard a whisper of a reply

    Im getting mails all the time asking how the project is going and i cant tell them a thing…..Guess it was a stupid idea 😦

    • justonemoregame says:

      Chris,

      Sorry to feel your site hasn’t been appreciated.

      The Ovine guys have lots of projects on the go now (including some iOS stuff) so I can see that getting ‘quick small games’ out the door ‘now’ can be more tempting than massive-mega-projects like Last Ninja done, as so much work has to be done before you get the benefit of a playable game.

      I ran a fan site of my own for a few years (not gaming related – something else) and I can understand the feeling that sometimes what you’ve put ‘in’ is not met with an equal amount of feedback.

      I do hope you keep your site up though – I also hope the project continues and if it does I’m sure somehow there’ll be a payoff for your early enthusiasm.

  19. What’s up!?!?!? Cmon I need this bad.. or Last Ninja 5 please 😛

  20. Shermanator says:

    I think this project was short lived. Its 2014 now so I highly doubt this will ever be remade. System 3 tried and about a month before it was to be released on the original Xbox- it was shelved. I think its too much for these guys to make. Oh well pity tho.

    • Gabe McGrath says:

      Well, I think you may be right.. Not that the Ovine guys want to disappoint people – but due to the massive amount of work required. I’d think its more satisfying to do smaller games, more often.

  21. […] dieser Remakes dürfte The Final Ninja werden, das sich noch in der Entwicklung befindet. Hach, The Last Ninja, ja. Kaum ein anderes Spiel […]

  22. Andrew Stephenson says:

    when well the game be ready 🙂

Leave a comment